Alex's Guide to DIY Carbon Paper Electrodes

Alex’s Guide to DIY Carbon Paper Electrodes

Introduction

Carbon paper electrodes are a good starting point for many electrochemical experiments. While there are many styles, these ones lend themselves to DIY production.

In these examples, we will be creating two types of electrodes. One made with bismuth powder, and the other with silver chloride powder. These happen to be the same types needed for Synthwave.

Note that I’m just a hobbyist, not a professional electrochemist. It is likely that there are better techniques than this one-- However, this is the one I’ve found that works best for my particular setup and workflow.

Materials Needed

I’ve provided links below, but they’re likely to fall victim to link rot over time. If a link isn’t working, just do your best to find a suitable replacement.

I also included amounts, but keep in mind that this will buy you much more than you need for a single set of electrodes. The intention here is that you’ll have enough material to make as many as you want.

• 50g Carbon Black (Carbon Powder)
  • 50g Polyvinylidene Floride, a binding agent
  • Metal powders, in this example both bismuth and silver chloride
  • 500mL of NMP solvent
  • At least a square foot of .005" thickness Carbon Paper (AKA Graphite Paper)
  • A razor scraper. I like this one, personally, but anything will work
  • Ink casting guides (see below)
  • A digital scale that works in the thousandth range
  • A plastic spoon
  • Latex gloves

Ink casting guides

The key to carbon paper electrodes is achieving a very thin and very even spread of “ink” onto a the sheet of carbon paper. The high-end way to do this is with a CNC-assisted spray nozzle. The low-end way is to do something called the “doctor blade” method, which involves laying down several layers of scotch tape in lines to a desired thickness, then using a razor blade to smoothly cast the ink between the lines.